Mitchell wrestlers win 2-of-4 at quad


Mountaineers defeat Watauga, Hickory; fall to South Caldwell, Patton

  • Mitchell wrestling

The Mitchell High School wrestling team traveled to Watauga Friday, Jan. 3, for the first wrestling action of the new year.

The Mountaineers started with a 48-33 victory over host Watauga before receiving a forfeit win over Hickory High School.

The third match of the event came down to the final bout, with Mitchell losing 40-33 on a last-second win for Patton.

The final match of the evening saw the Mountaineers fall 51-21 to South Caldwell.

Friday’s matches move the Mountaineers to 5-7 on the season as a team.

Senior Dylan Lowery continued to impress, staying undefeated with three pins and a forfeit to move to 12-0 on the season. Senior Cameron Greene also picked up four more wins to move to 10-2.

The Mountaineers travel to Cherokee Saturday, Jan. 4, for an individual tournament, then begin Western Highlands Conference action this coming week against Madison.


Mitchell 48.0, Watauga 33.0

160: Luke Cuthbert (WATA) over Seth Goforth (MITC) (Fall 3:53) 170: Zeb McKinney (MITC) over (WATA) (For.) 182: Noah Maltba (MITC) over (WATA) (For.) 195: Xander Gardner (MITC) over William Bouboulis (WATA) (Fall 0:20) 220: Ben Oaks (WATA) over Samuel Shook (MITC) (Fall 2:39) 285: Grant Lawrence (WATA) over Tyler Brooks (MITC) (Fall 3:29) 106: Noah Styles (WATA) over Halley Wheeler (MITC) (Dec 11-4) 113: Daniel Russom (WATA) over Trent Street (MITC) (Fall 0:53) 120: Dylan Lowery (MITC) over Landon Vansliedrecht (WATA) (Fall 0:58) 126: Elijah SMith (MITC) over Mosaic Vansliedrecht (WATA) (Fall 2:48) 132: Brandon Francisco (WATA) over Carson Phillips (MITC) (Fall 2:35) 138: Adrian Morales (MITC) over Lucas Turlington (WATA) (Fall 0:45) 145: Isaac Holmes (MITC) over Andrew Jeter (WATA) (Fall 3:25) 152: Cameron Greene (MITC) over (WATA) (For.)


Mitchell 1.0, Hickory 0.0

106: Halley Wheeler (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 113: Trent Street (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 120: Dylan Lowery (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 126: Elijah SMith (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 132: Serenty Soboleski (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 138: Adrian Morales (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 145: Isaac Holmes (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 152: Cameron Greene (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 160: Seth Goforth (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 170: Zeb McKinney (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 182: Noah Maltba (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 195: Xander Gardner (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 220: Samuel Shook (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) 285: Tyler Brooks (MITC) over (HICK) (For.) (MITC manual adjust by rule team for. -83.0)


South Caldwell 51.0, Mitchell 21.0

195: Justin Chester (SOCA) over Xander Gardner (MITC) (Dec 9-7) 220: Samuel Shook (MITC) over Cole McCall (SOCA) (Fall 3:31) 285: Josh Voelkel (SOCA) over Tyler Brooks (MITC) (Fall 0:43) 106: Jonah McBurney (SOCA) over Halley Wheeler (MITC) (Fall 0:15) 113: Tyler Mitcham (SOCA) over Trent Street (MITC) (Fall 0:05) 120: Dylan Lowery (MITC) over Brison Helton (SOCA) (Fall 1:19) 126: Abby Phillips (SOCA) over Elijah SMith (MITC) (Dec 9-2) 132: Ben Schofield (MITC) over Riley Thacker (SOCA) (Fall 1:36) 138: Andrew Clark (SOCA) over Adrian Morales (MITC) (Dec 9-4) 145: Hunter Hudson (SOCA) over Isaac Holmes (MITC) (Fall 0:56) 152: Cameron Greene (MITC) over Anthony Romero (SOCA) (Dec 8-1) 160: Ben Shore (SOCA) over Seth Goforth (MITC) (Fall 2:55) 170: Madelynn Dillard (SOCA) over (MITC) (For.) 182: CJ Crawford (SOCA) over Noah Maltba (MITC) (Fall 1:05)