FALL SPORTS PREVIEW: Mitchell Volleyball

New head coach, no seniors for 2018 volleyball team

LEDGER – The 2018 version of the Mitchell High School Volleyball team could not look more different than 2017. A roster of 10 players that had eight seniors has been replaced with a roster of 12 players and no seniors as well as a new head coach at the helm.

The Mountaineers went 4-8 overall and 2-2 in the Western Highlands Conference in 2017 under former head coach Philesia Smith. First-year head coach Ciji Dellinger, a 2002 Mitchell graduate and four-year volleyball player, said she wants to restore the tradition of a winning volleyball team at Mitchell.

“We have the talent to be really good,” Dellinger said. “We are young but we have juniors and three transfers with experience I expect will contribute right away.”

After losing a lot of the team’s height to graduation, Dellinger said she would look for her team excel in other areas.

“Our lack of height is made up for by our power hitters,” she said. “I really need my juniors to step up, and I expect good things from my sophomores as well.”

Dellinger took the team on its first retreat before the season and during that trip implored her players to set personal and team goals.

“I have two little girls coming through the school system right now,” Dellinger said. “I want them to get to Mitchell and be able to play for a great volleyball team with a history of winning.”

 

Mitchell High School Mountaineers 

2018 Varsity Volleyball Roster

 

NO.  NAME     CLASS

2       Hannah McMahan    11

3       Marley Cloer               10

4       Paige Johnson          10

6       Maddie Biddix           11

7       Morgan Greene         11

8       Peyton Pitman          11

9       Emilee Slagl              11

10     Danica Byrd               11

11     Savannah Banks       9

12     Erika Gouge             10

13     Caroline Woody        11

14     Jill Pitman               10

Ruth Hurtado         Stats

Head Coach: Ciji Dellinger

 

2018 Volleyball Schedule

5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 14 vs. Ashe County 

6 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 18 vs. Thomas Jefferson Academy 

5:30 p.m. Wed., Aug. 22 vs. McDowell 

6 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 23 at Smoky Mountain 

6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 11 at Mountain Heritage 

6:30 p.m. Wed., Sept. 12 at North Buncombe

6 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 13 at Madison

5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 18 vs. Polk County 

5 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 20 at Avery County 

6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 25 at Charles D. Owen 

5 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 27 vs. Mountain Heritage 

6 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 3 vs. North Buncombe 

6:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 4 at Polk County 

6 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 9 vs. Avery County 

6 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 11 vs. Charles D. Owen

Home games in BOLD

The MItchell News

Mailing Address: PO Box 339 
Spruce Pine, NC 28777 
Phone: 828-765-7169
Fax: 828-765-1616