• Article Image Alt Text

American Red Cross 'Salute to WNC Heroes' nomination period open

Throughout our community, ordinary people perform extraordinary acts every day. The Western North Carolina Chapter of the American Red Cross needs your help in identifying and recognizing our local heroes. Award winners will be recognized at a Salute to WNC Heroes Breakfast in March 2020.  

Award categories include Blood Services, Community Impact, Disaster Services, Emergency Medical Assistance, Firefighter, Good Samaritan, Law Enforcement, Military, Nurse, or Youth. Full descriptions of the award requirements are available online.  

“We walk among our community heroes every day. Their good deeds, relentless work, and heroic actions often go unnoticed,” says Megan Robinson, executive director of the Western North Carolina Chapter of the American Red Cross. “The Salute to WNC Heroes Breakfast is an opportunity to recognize them and, as a community, say thank you.”  

All award nominees must live in one of the counties within the Western North Carolina American Red Cross Chapter – Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, or Yancey. Nominees do not need to have any current or past affiliation with the American Red Cross.  

Nominations will only be accepted through our online nomination form. The award nomination period runs from September 1, 2019 to November 15, 2019. Award winners will be notified by December 15, 2019. The breakfast date, location, and ticket prices will be announced in late 2019.  

About the Western North Carolina Chapter of American Red Cross  

The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation's blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. The Western North Carolina Chapter serves the counties of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey.  

Facebook: @RedCrossGreaterCarolinas   Twitter: @GCRRedCross

The MItchell News

Mailing Address: PO Box 339 
Spruce Pine, NC 28777 
Phone: 828-765-7169
Fax: 828-765-1616