Events for week of Jan. 31, 2018

The Mitchell County Senior Center is taking a trip to “The Ark Encounter and Creation Museum” in Kentucky. Cost is $450 per person for the four-day, three-night trip. Call 828-688-3019 ext. 4 for more information.

 

A drop-in reception to celebrate Calvin Hall’s 60th year with Fortner Insurance is 2-4 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 1, at the agency’s Spruce Pine location on Oak Ave.

 

The Bakersville Improvement Group, or BIG, meets at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 1, in the EDC conference room at the County Administration Building.

 

The Penland Post Office and General Store Project is having an online auction Feb. 1-8. Visit 32auction.com for more information and a complete list of items.

 

The Mitchell County Historical Society is having a Scan Day from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 3, at the MCHS office in the Historic Courthouse in Bakersville.

 

“Discovering the Voice of God” Bible study begins Tuesday, Feb. 6, for seven weeks at Bear Creek Baptist Church. Classes are 10-11:30 a.m. and 6:30-8 p.m. Call 828-467-7243 for more information.

 

2018 election candidate filing begins at noon Monday, Feb. 12, and ends at noon Wednesday, Feb. 28, for the sheriff, clerk of court and commissioners’ seats. Deadline to withdraw candidacy is 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 23. Absentee voting begins Monday, March 19, and beginning Friday, March 23, election notices will need to be published for three weeks. Deadline for voter registration is Friday, April 13, for anyone wishing to vote in the May election. One-stop voting begins Thursday, April 19, and ends at 1 p.m. Saturday, May 5. Hours and voting locations will be determined later, Jones said. The last day to request an absentee ballot is Tuesday, May 1, and election day is Tuesday, May 8.

 

The High Country RPO will receive public comment from Jan. 26-Feb. 19 for the draft High Country RPO 2017-2018 State Transportation Improvement Program, or STIP, Project Solicitation and Ranking Process methodology. The methodology can be viewed at www.regiond.org/TRANSPORT.html. Comments can be sent via email to dgraham@regiond.org or by phone at 828-265-5434 ext. 135.

 

The Mitchell County Health Partnership meets from noon-1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 6, in the meeting room at Helen’s Restaurant in Bakersville.

 

The Mitchell County Historical Society is having a Scan Day from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 17, at the Spruce Pine Main Street office on Locust Street in Spruce Pine.

The “Fill My Cup, Lord” women’s conference is 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 24, at Western Carolina Church, 31 Cross Street. Lunch is provided free to all attendees and daycare is provided for children 5 years old and under. Reservations are required to get a headcount for food purposes. Email Sheila Blalock at sblalock@hotmail.com to reserve a spot.

Date: 
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 3:15pm

The MItchell News

Mailing Address: PO Box 339 
Spruce Pine, NC 28777 
Phone: 828-765-7169
Fax: 828-765-1616