EVENTS: Jan. 24, 2018

The Mitchell County Senior Center is taking a trip to “The Ark Encounter and Creation Museum” in Kentucky. Cost is $450 per person for the four-day, three-night trip. Call 828-688-3019 ext. 4 for more information.

 

2018 election candidate filing begins at noon Monday, Feb. 12, and ends at noon Wednesday, Feb. 28, for the sheriff, clerk of court and commissioners’ seats. Deadline to withdraw candidacy is 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 23. Absentee voting begins Monday, March 19, and beginning Friday, March 23, election notices will need to be published for three weeks. Deadline for voter registration is Friday, April 13, for anyone wishing to vote in the May election. One-stop voting begins Thursday, April 19, and ends at 1 p.m. Saturday, May 5. Hours and voting locations will be determined later. The last day to request an absentee ballot is Tuesday, May 1, and election day is Tuesday, May 8.

 

The High Country RPO will receive public comment from Jan. 26-Feb. 19 for the draft High Country RPO 2017-2018 State Transportation Improvement Program, or STIP, Project Solicitation and Ranking Process methodology. The methodology can be viewed at www.regiond.org/TRANSPORT.html. Comments can be sent via email to dgraham@regiond.org or by phone at 828-265-5434 ext. 135.

 

Mitchell County Schools is having school bus driver training from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Jan. 29-31 at the board of education office. Call Mark Hughes at 828-766-2233 for more information.

 

The Mitchell County Health Partnership meets from noon-1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 6, in the meeting room at Helen’s Restaurant in Bakersville.

 

The “Fill My Cup, Lord” women’s conference is 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 24, at Western Carolina Church, 31 Cross Street. Lunch is provided free to all attendees and daycare is provided for children 5 years old and under. Reservations are required to get a headcount for food purposes. Email Sheila Blalock at sblalock@hotmail.com to reserve a spot.

 

The 2nd annual Mitchell County Historical Society History Bee is scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, March 22, at the Historic Courthouse in Bakersville. Visit the MCHS website, or call 828-385-0564 or 828-688-3471 with questions about the History Bee.

 

The North Carolina Community Action Association is hosting Poverty Simulation Experience from 1-4:30 p.m. Thursday, March, 29, at the Burnsville Town Center. The event is free, but registration is required. Email Deb Haight at dhaight@wcca.net to register.

 

Date: 
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 11:15pm

The MItchell News

Mailing Address: PO Box 339 
Spruce Pine, NC 28777 
Phone: 828-765-7169
Fax: 828-765-1616